T Nation

Compound Exercises

What are the main and/or essential compound exercises a person should or must incorporate into their program. I am a beginner and I am sold on:

1. Squats
  2. Deadlifts
  3. Chin-ups
  4. Dips
  5. Bench Press

Basically I want the most complete full body program, comprised of the most beneficial/economical exercises. I just don’t know what all the best compound exercises are. I think rows might be a good one too, and I am sure there are others I am not aware of.

I don’t want to do everything in one work out I want to split it like in Rippetoes routine. I am sure that program would be just fine as is, but I would like to know some of the other compound exercises so that when I need to make a change I know what I want add or substitute.

I think a good list of compounds and what exactly they hit would be helpful to a beginner like but I wasn’t able to find them listed in such a way. The UWL Exercise Video Index page would be a good place to designate what the exercise is(compound vs iso) and what muscle(s) it targets.

Thanks for your help

You pretty much nailed it with those five. I’d add bent-over rows for sure, and also military presses.

… have you even started working out yet, or are you waiting until you have the perfect routine before you ever go into the gym?

No haven’t started yet. I have worked out many times in the past but never with any real knowledge of what I was doing. Just the old 3 set of 10 of everything or anything I felt like doing.

I had never done squats, deadlifts, or knew the importance of chin-ups or dips. I would basically want to lifts weights, so I would start out doing the same exercises I always did because they were the ones I knew, and also they hit the muscles that I wanted to get big.