T Nation

Complete Newbie/Nerd Trying to Get Healthy

I'm sixteen years old, and up until recently didn't really care about being unhealthy. Then I started trying to work out. I say "trying" because I had no idea what I was doing, ended up doing way too many reps at way too little weight, doing the wrong workouts to exercise the muscles I wanted.

For example, triceps extentions to work out my bicep. I was curling like 20 reps once every day with 10lb dumbells. Eventually I started doing a bit of research, but I never found out how much I should be lifting. Just how to do each exercise. Up until now, I've been eating very unhealthily, too. I'd wake up and have a pack of ramen noodles. That would hold me over until I got hungry, then I'd have another pack. Which would hold me until my mother made dinner. After that, I'd have another pack of ramen noodles. I'm also pretty thin, 5'7'' and 124lbs.

Just a few days ago, I found the "Tailor-Made Nutrition" articles (http://www.T-Nation.com/readTopic.do?id=856188) , and decided to change.

Now, I have a few questions:

How am I supposed to set overrall goals? Let's go with the dumbell curl. How am I supposed to know when I should stop increasing the weight? When I'm satsified with my arm size?

Is it worth doing that diet if I only eat three meals per day? I mean, is it much more healthy than just what I was doing before? My parents can't afford for me to eat more than that, and I am unable to get a job because gas and car insurance would amount to more than any part-time job around here pays.

When is the best time to drink a whey protein shake? With a meal? Sometime before/after working out? Does it count as a meal (under the seven rules) if I add a few cups of frozen/fresh fruit to it?