T Nation

Complete Newb to Working Out

Hi, my name is Colton and I'm a 20 year old Canadian. I have lived a life of partying, drinking, eating uncontrollably, and lets face it, living the "life" in most young peoples eyes. Now, getting more older and mature, I have realized that it's time to do what I need to do, and thats get fit. Of course, I have picked this path AFTER the peak of my testerone is over. (so I have read) The reason why I need help so bad is that my weight is causing me to have back problems, ultimately making me not able to work, so all help would be very very helpful.

Now, I have read the beginners threads, all the links to certain guides and such, but my questions haven't really been answered, they were just guidelines to what I need to do. I have learned the following:

• To keep a foodlog.
  • The difference between calories and empty calories.
  • Alcohol is BAD. (Darn.)
  • Instead of single pin-pointed muscle workouts, do multi-muscle workouts, such as deadlifts.
  • Mix up your workouts alot, to keep the body surprised.

I could keep going, but I have learned so much from this website, I really think its endless knowledge for living healthy and being fit, which Is exactly what I want.

So, this leads me to my questionings and what I should do, I'm really stuck here and could use some professional advice, In which I am sure I always find some sort of reasoning to quit and not go ahead, these reasons mostly being that I'm doing something wrong, or I'm just falling back into the same hole... but now that im 20, its having such a big impact on me its not funny, and I'm going to live the healthy life, if my friends like it or not. Ultimately, I'm going to set my questions into categories so It's easy for you, the people of health and fitness, to quote and answer.

Question #1: