T Nation

Complete Beginner

Well here I am finally posting after spending alot of time looking and reading over the many posts on this site. I've been working out for a while now, but you guys have inspired me to not just work out, but to do things right. So i am looking for any advice, helpful hints, the standard drill.

I'm 21, 5'9 and about 170 pounds.

Here is a standard day that i go throw. I'm up at 6am getting ready for work, I work in constructions for 9 and a half hours. I generally eat 2 pieces of toast, wheat bread with penut butter on it. Or a bowl of honey nut cheerios.

At work i'm fairly active but i dont really do too much that tests me physically. I'm either moving lumber, performing safetys on houses, cleaning/preparing houses for carpeting. Though now i've thrown in push ups randomly through out the day. Generally do about 140-200 throughout 9 and a half hours.

Come lunch I have a litre of juice, either grape or fruit punch, the frozen can types. A homemade sub of turkey and ham lunch meats, then sometimes some bacon dippers, crispers, poptarts or cookies as a snack/sweet. only have one of those, never all together.

for supper its generally steak and potatoes with a ceaser salad. or chicken, porkchops, basicly meat and potatos and sald. and other days its pasta with garlic bread.

Now I used to eat before i go to bed, but i've been trying to break that habit. I just try to drink more water before bed, though sometimes I do break and eat.

Then i'm off to bed around 11-12 to get up again at 6.

As for working out, i used to go about every other day, but now with work and such, my time has become limited. When getting home, I gotta cook supper some nights, take my brother to soccor, help him with homework etc etc. This makes some nights impossible to get away for a workout. Problem is i never know what days those are ( minus soccor i know when that is )