T Nation

Complete Beginner

Hi All

New to the site, someone else directed me here. Basically I am 5ft7, weigh 10st even and have large excess of fat. I want to get a more athletic physique, gain more muscle and reduce fat levels. Could someone of you knowledgeable chaps point me in the direction of a workout plan and also a diet plan. Thanks in advance...

Another pic

http://images.t-nation.com/forum_images/1/c/1c4b4-sbcbcljcj9f755z3qkv_1_.jpg

Another…

Read the stickies at the top of the beginners forum.

AR

surely! If you go to tmuscle.com you will find a ton of free articles by some of the worlds best training and nutrition experts. New articles are posted 5 mornings a week. There is a ton of stuff to read. It’s all really interesting. Some of it is theoretical, some of it includes programs. You should, in a short while, have enough information to pick out a good beginning program that meets your goals. Also, at tmuscle.com, there is a handy dandy search function, where you can search the entire site (including or excluding the forums, as you prefer) for a topic (and believe me, you aren’t the first person to come here in approximately your position… there’s plenty of previous advice to read).

I suspect that folks will not be very helpful towards you in response to the question you pose here, because the site is brimming over with resources for you if you take a moment to seek them out. That said, if you run into any more specific questions, I suspect folks will be eager to help you answer them!

Dan

Sure thing.

Workout plan - Do a simple 2 day split. Work your upper body one day, lower body the next. This’ll get you working out and learning to do some basic exercises. Try to stay to the basic lifts like presses, squats, rows, deadlifts. After some time of mastering these exercises invest some more in discovering more unique workout plans for your specific goals.