Comparing Cardio Workouts

Ive been training for 18 years, have an exercise science degree, several certifications and have worked in the fitness field off and on since 1997. With everything I’ve learned over the years, sometimes reading too much confuses even me and I start second guessing even though I know what works for me. I know results vary depending on gender, age, body type, genetics, etc, but I would like to get your opinion on this.

Which burns more calories/fat: long sustained cardio (45-60 min) at a steady low-moderate pace or 20 minute HIIT training? Personally, I hate cardio so I haven’t performed long sessions that much haha, but have gotten great results with HIIT. Give me your opinions!!

i think that is a trick question.

you will burn a higher percentage of calories from fat stores with the long slow cardio. but think of it this way. would you rather have 50% of $100 or 30% of $200? the $100 is like long slow cardio, less total calories but higher percentage from fat. while the HIIT is more like the $200 example.

IMO you also need to take into account the metabolic response afterwards. you can continue to increase your metabolic needs much higher and for longer periods with HIIT then with long slow cardio. so if you are looking for a greater caloric burn HIIT wins out.

but there is more than a caloric burn with those 2 types of cardio. as you are well aware there is difference between the physiological adaption. i believe both have their place and both should be done for fitness reasons.

and i will throw this in there as you have a science background:
HIIT builds fitness faster. 30 min @ 60% vs 10x4 @ 90% w/ 2 min rest. Aerobic capacity increased by 13%, fat burning capacity up by 36%, and key aerobic enzymes increased by 25%
-Journal Applied Physilogy, 102: 1439-1447, 2007