Common Misconceptions Wiki

Don’t open the link unless you have an hour to kill.

Bookmarked!

I love this kind of stuff.

Not that I exactly like having my world torn down, but it’s neat when you find out things like why the astronauts float when they’re up in the space shuttle (and it’s not because the gravity is diminished)

Sugar does not cause hyperactivity in children.[268][269] Double-blind trials have shown no difference in behavior between children given sugar-full or sugar-free diets, even in studies specifically looking at children with attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder or those considered sensitive to sugar.

This is one I’ve known for a while and it dies hard.

I’m a kindergarten teacher and kids get crazy when other kids get crazy.

I was slightly offended by this one. Seriously? Do people outside my motherland think May 5th is our Independence day?

[quote]Freaky_Frankie wrote:

I was slightly offended by this one. Seriously? Do people outside my motherland think May 5th is our Independence day?[/quote]

Yes and I have lived in South Texas for over 25 years, even Mexican-Americans think that.

[quote]Derek542 wrote:

[quote]Freaky_Frankie wrote:

I was slightly offended by this one. Seriously? Do people outside my motherland think May 5th is our Independence day?[/quote]

Yes and I have lived in South Texas for over 25 years, even Mexican-Americans think that.[/quote]

Bullshit! Everyone knows that Cinco de Mayo is a celebration of the date Tila Tequila invented Tequila.

“According to the California Academy of Sciences, only 59% of U.S. adults know humans and (non-avian) dinosaurs did not coexist.[209] The last of the non-avian dinosaurs died 65.5 million years ago, after the Cretaceous?Paleogene extinction event, whereas the earliest Homo genus (humans) evolved between 2.3 and 2.4 million years ago. This places a 63 million year expanse of time between the last non-bird dinosaurs and the earliest humans.”