Commercial Real Estate

Does anyone here work in commercial real estate?

I’m a third year business student and I’m looking to get an entry level position so I can get a start on things before I graduate. I would love any advice and I also have a cover letter I have written that I would love to PM to someone for critique.

I’m not yet sure what specifically I want to do ( brokerage, development, leasing, etc.) But I do know that I feel strongly about the commercial real estate field.

I’m doing my concentration in accounting and finance.

Any advice on getting into the field would be very much appreciate.

The appraisal is the key to financing commercial real estate. There are several appraisal models - learn them. Which model you present to the bank and how well presented it is will make a big difference in how much they will finance. The ability to find financing is another skill, especially in today’s market. Get to know hard money lenders and earn their trust (and don’t ever fuck them over). The contracts involved in commercial real estate make average residential sales contracts look like kindergarten scribbles.

Find an attorney that is willing to explain the in’s and out’s of the contract language and how and when to use it. I’ve been out of that arena for some time now, so I’m unfamiliar with any of the new regulations that this administration has inflicted on the commercial real estate sector. From what I remember, regulation was virtually non-existent when compared to residential real estate. Find out the regulations you have to abide by. Failure to do so could put you in prison.