Comments on Mass Building Workout

Hey, I’m new to T-Nation, and fairly new to weight-lifting. Anyway, I need to put on mass, and I’ve used what I’ve read here to design a program. What do you guys think?

Day 1:

A - Squat 10x3

B1 - Pullups 4x6
B2 - Dips 4x6

C1 - DB Incline Bench Press 4x6
C2 - DB Hammer Curls 4x6

Day 4:

A - Bench Press 10x3

B1 - Leg Press 4x6
B2 - Calf Raise 4x6

C1 - BB Bent Over Rows 4x6
C2 - DB Tate Presses 4x6

Day 6:

A - Deadlift 10x3

B1 - BB Standing Military Press 4x6
B2 - BB Reverse Curls 4x6

C1 - Chinups 4x6
C2 - Skull-Crushers 4x6

So basically it’s along the lines of Waterbury Method, using primarily the big exercises.

The progression here would be to add a rep to each set each week for 3 weeks.

worth a try.

[quote]Bloodandiron wrote:
Hey, I’m new to T-Nation, and fairly new to weight-lifting. Anyway, I need to put on mass, and I’ve used what I’ve read here to design a program. What do you guys think?

Day 1:

A - Squat 10x3

B1 - Pullups 4x6
B2 - Dips 4x6

C2 - DB Hammer Curls 4x6

Day 4:

A - Bench Press 10x3

B1 - Leg Press 4x6
B2 - Calf Raise 4x6

C2 - DB Tate Presses 4x6

Day 6:

A - Deadlift 10x3

C1 - Chinups 4x6
C2 - Skull-Crushers 4x6

So basically it’s along the lines of Waterbury Method, using primarily the big exercises.

The progression here would be to add a rep to each set each week for 3 weeks.[/quote]

For a newbie, not bad.
IMO, the only thing I would do different is Lunges instead of leg press on day #4.That way you get some single leg work in so do dont develope any slight leg imbalances. Also, all BB upper body movements I would exchange for DB movements. That way all your arm work is single and you cant develope any slight arm imbalances( pulling/pushing & flexing harder with one more than the other ).

Day 1:

A - Squat 10x3

B1 - Pullups 4x6
B2 - Dips 4x6

C2 - DB Hammer Curls 4x6

Day 4:

A - Bench Press 10x3

B1 - Leg Press 4x6
B2 - Calf Raise 4x6

C2 - DB Tate Presses 4x6

Day 6:

A - Deadlift 10x3