Commando Training

I’m currently a Sport and Exercise student in the UK who is going to try to get accepted i the Royal Marines as an Officer. To do this I have to pass the Potential Officers Course (POC). At this along with many other mental and leadership skills I would have to perform 60 press ups in 2 minutes, 18 pull-ups in as long as possible, 85 sit ups (old skool partener holding the feet)in two minutes, and level 15.5 in the bleep teat for a maximum score. My question is has any one got any ideas as to how to train for the pull ups, press ups and sit ups (I know i’ll just have to hit the road for the aerobic stuff). At the moment I play university level rugby and train mainly olympic lifting/powerlifting movements. I was hoping for something along the lines of Charles Poliquin’s, @no more geek back training.

Gareth: I know exactly what you mean, as I was in your shoes once, only the PFT that I trained for was the toughest the US military has to offer. I suggest that you look for a book titled: “The Complete Guide to Navy SEAL Fitness; 12 Weeks to BUD/S” by Lt. Stewart Smith, USN SEAL. It is published by Hatherleigh Press (1-800-906-1234.) You should also be able to find it at your local Barnes and Nobles Bookstore. It is an excellent guide for getting in shape for calisthenics-based fitness tests and has routines for push-ups, pull-ups, sit-ups, running, and swimming. Simply put, if you adhere to the 12-week program as it is laid out, you will be in the best cardio/calisthenic shape of your life. I tried many other programs by Poliquin and the like but found that nothing helps your calisthenics more than simply doing calisthenics. If you try to throw in a weight-training program with the 12 Weeks to BUD/S workout you will surely overtrain. Give it a try and see for yourself!