Coming Back From Sepsis and Other Muscle Wasting Diseases

Also posted this on the injuries forum figured there may be more experiences with the over 35 group.

I’m a long term runner/weight trainer who recently contracted sepsis, was hospitalized for a week and lost 20 pounds, mainly muscle.

Would be interested in any stories/advice for getting back in shape after this. I’m sure a bunch of hard work is the prime answer, but just looking for any tips on doing this the smartest way.

Thanks.

There are many wiser heads than mine here, but…I am on my second come back…or will be in a few days, and here is my what I think:

Pick some basic lifts that you know, lift and work you way back up using good form. Try and add weight each week, but add it slow as you won’t adapt as quickly as you did when you were younger and you will feel like you should be lifting more faster than your joints will recover from. You can get it back, you just need to be patient and keep from hurting yourself along the way.

Pay attention to you macronutrients. 40p-30c-30f is what I usually see quoted, and I find it works for me. I heard we digest protein less efficiently so we need more of it, and I feel and see a difference. Drink lots of water too. The more protein you eat the more water you need to process it. I could build lean muscle at McDonald’s when I was in my 20’s, not so now.

There is a Mobility for Old Farts thread on here that you need to read, as it REALLY helps when you are older. I thought it was all crap and ignored it when I was young, as it didn’t seem to make any difference. Now I notice right away.

Keep moving. Whatever you do stick with it. Patience is something we should be better at as we are older, and if you consistently hit the gym you will see results. Maybe not as quick as you like, but each workout makes you stronger, each workout skipped makes you weaker. It matters less what you do than that you keep striving and evolving.