Combining Calisthenics and Weight Training, Program Review?

Good morning everyone,

I was hoping for some thoughts on my program please. I would first like to give a bit of background about me and why I am training this way.

I’ve been training in the gym for over 15 years. Over the years I’ve done everything from “German Volume Training” your typical “bro-splits” you see in the magazines. I’ve competed in 1 bodybuilding contest to which I made 3rd place in the middle weight division. I don’t plan to do another one but it was a good experience.

As I get older, I am more concerned with striking a balance if you will. I don’t want to gym to rule my life but I want it to be a part of my life.

Now I don’t train in a commercial gym anymore but train at home. I have been blessed to be able to have a pretty kickass gym filled with plenty of barbells and dumbbells. I also became introduced into the wonderful world of calisthenics thanks to “Convict Conditioning”. As I became more engrossed with the lessons that book taught, I questioned why do I need to lift weights at all. As I love lifting weights however and have access to them, I’m not quite ready to give up the iron just yet.

This is why (through trial and error) I have come up with a balanced routine of calisthenics and weight training. I want to focus on progressive calisthenics and weight training equally. I love them both. I want to share this routine with the other members of this site and see what they think.

So here is what I have come up with.

Day 1 Calisthenics Focused Push A

Dips: 3 sets/ 10 reps
Handstand Holds: 3 sets

Day 2 Weights Focused Pull B

Hex Bar Deadlift: 3 sets/ 5 reps

Day 3 Calisthenics Focused Legs A

Front Levers: 3 sets/ 1 min.
Shrimp Squats: 3 sets/ 10 reps

Day 4 Weights Focused Push B

Barbell Bench Press: 3 sets/ 5 reps

Day 5 Calisthenics Focused Pull A

Towel Pullups: 3 sets/ 10 reps
Wall-walking Bridges: 3 sets/10 reps

Day 6 Weights Focused Legs B