College

Hey I love t-mag and read it every week. But aside from that I am headed to college in TN from FL tomorow so wish me luck any pointers would be appreciated

jd

JD, I work with college students for a living and think alot about this stuff. The first thing is, College is what you make of it. Are you going to do the bare minimum or are you going to go that extra step? I always talk about the educational experience versus book learning. My best lessons were not learned in class, especially since I’ve forgotten many of the lessons. Rather, my education was simply going through the college experience.

Always think about your future while in college. I’m applying for law school right now, and I really regret a couple of the C+'s I had because if those would have just been B’s or B-'s, my chances of getting into a couple of schools would dramatically increase. Go to school with the end in mind.

With that said, you need to remember that you will probably do something other than what you think you will now, and that is absolutely fine. Future graduate may not require you to even have a certain major. (I was music, now going to law). Find what you want to do and go for it.

Study abroad. No questions asked. Don’t worry about money, use loans. My four months in Milan, Italy was by far the most educational point in my life. The language is going, the knowledge is slipping, but the friends are still close. You will learn so much about yourself and your country.