College Student Looking to Gain Weight

I’m currently a college student and a pretty skinny guy (5’11 and 140 pounds). My main concern is that I need to greatly increase my daily calorie intake, but being a poor college student I’m hoping there’s a good way to increase calorie consumption; and at the same time hoping to not leave a huge dent in my wallet.

I plan on buying some whey protein, but other than that, what would be the best types of food that would give the best “bang for their buck” in terms of calories and price wise, if there’s such a thing. Any other suggestions will be appreciated as well.

Thanks

Depends on how much you’re eating at the moment. Log your intake for the next day or two (log it precisely), then post it here and calculate the calories.

Yes, you need to dramatically increase your food intake, but you need to do it in a semi-gradual manner to avoid shocking your metabolism too much. It’s easier to ramp it up 300-400 calories each week to your target than it is to just suddenly force feed yourself your goal calories. It also may help control fat gain in the initial stages. Of course, you’ll have to accept some fat gain as a necessary side effect during gaining. But it’s best to control it when you can.

If you stay on campus, then use the cafeteria to your advantage. Nalgene bottles + whole milk = lots of calories. Also, grab seconds/thirds, wrap them up and take them back to your fridge.

Other than that, pecans/walnuts/mixed nuts are really good for fast calories. Peanut butter is too. Unfortunately, there is a limit on how much you can save when eating healthy, since ironically the healthiest whole foods are often more expensive than crappy foods. Still doable though, no matter what you think. As long as you don’t spend all your money on alcohol… :slight_smile: