T Nation

College Soccer Workout?

I am currently part of a college soccer team. I realize that quickness and speed is a very important part of the game. I am a currently a freshman and one of the fastest/quickest players on the team, so I am not too worried about my speed, because I am sure it can at least be maintained throughout this proposed training cycle:

My coach gave a us a workout schedule, and it consists of full body workouts 3 days a week. He claims this stage is simply for gaining muscle mass (60-70% of max, 8-10 reps) and he wants a lot of protein intake. My question is, how long should I maintain such a workout schedule before I should start doing higher reps to lower body fat %. My essential goals are to become stronger, yes, but I also want to lower body fat % (especially around my abs). The entire workout is supposed to last for the rest of the college semester (late April), then throughout the summer I am basically on my own. So all in all, I have from now until the beginning of August to create some sort of workout cycle that will allow me to gain a good amount of (muscle) mass and then cut with high reps. I just need to know how to go about doing it. Any recommendations on how to help achieve my goals would be appreciated.

Thanks much,
Mark

Mark,

First of all, let me give you one piece of advice. Higher reps are not going to help you "cut". Your body fat percentage is going to be a function of your diet and your total caloric expenditure.