College Football Summer Program

I’m a junior in College, 21 yrs. old, I’ve been training hard for about 5 years…I play NG and some OG…I’m 6’1" 250 lbs with 15 percent BF…We recently tested out, I benched 225 17 times, did 25 strict form pull-ups, ran a 5.0 forty and a 9.5 T-Drill…

I’m going to tell you all what our strength coach gave us for the summer and ask you what you think of it and ask for advice on getting bigger/stronger and quicker…

Monday- 16x40yds with 45 sec. rest in between
10x10 broad jumps
10 vertical jumps

Tuesday- 300 yard gasser
10 T-runs with 45 sec. rest in between
10x10 broad jumps
10 vertical jumps

Wednesday-5 min. jumping jack warm up
5x5 close grip bench
5x5 squat
5x5 curl
ab circuit

Thursday- Monday’s workout

Friday- Tuesdays’ workout

Saturday- 5 min. jumping jack warmup
5x5 shoulder press
5x5 deadlift
5x5 rows
ab circuit
Sunday- rest

**Strength coach said that he doesn’t want us to do ANY extra lifting unless it’s on the days that we are already scheduled to lift (wed. & Sat.)

Thanks for the advice

Forgot to Throw in Power cleans (5x5) on Saturdays…

personally i would performe the jumps before the speed work and the tempo runs.just my opinion.

the volume of jumps looks high too

Any offseason program that has you lifting two days a week is stupid. As long as you come into the fall in shape for the running drills and have a good squat and bench (or whatever lifts are tested), you can do whatever you want as far as lifting goes.

You coach is not going to be mad that you came in with more size than the rest of the team, he’ll probably take credit for your progress-let him.

yeah, the broad jumps are pre-running and the verts are post running…

Where do you play?