Coffee before fasted-state cardio?

Please bear with me, as I’m a bit of a newbie to the nutrition scene.

Okay, we know:

1. Caffeine causes a rise in insulin levels.

2. Fat metabolism during exercise is inhibited in the presence of high insulin levels.

Based on 1 and 2, wouldn’t it follow that coffee before fasted-state AM cardio is a bad idea?

Don: What makes you think that caffeine causes an insulin response when no other nutrients are ingested simultaneously? It seems to hold true that when eating carbohydrate at the same time as ingesting caffeine will cause transient insulin insensitivity and glucose intolerance.

However, I do not believe that such will be the case when caffeine (i.e. coffee) is ingested in the fasted state, nor with a protein and fat meal. On the contrary, coffee or caffeine ingestion at this time (i.e. before fasted-state cardio or with a protein and fat meal) might actually prove beneficial.

This should increase plasma free-fatty acids, and with stable insulin levels, this should bode well since the body will be primed to mobilize those fatty acids right to the muscles’ mitochondria for oxidation.

Green tea is a much better choice in my book.

Both of your statements are incorrect.

Joel

Okay Joel, I’ll bite. What’s the correct response?

Fa Q Joel, I was stating an opinion!
Green Tea is thermogenic with very little caffine and besides it has a ton of anti oxidants.

Joel, disregarding statement number one, could you expand on statement number two being incorrect?

It’s pretty much a physiological principle that insulin will inhibit hormone sensitive lipase, both in the muscle and in adipose tissue, which will lead to inhibition of fat breakdown.