Coconut Oil and Insulin Sensitivity

Does coconut oil have any impact (positive or negative) on insulin sensitivity? I haven’t been able to find much information on the subject. Thanks.

I have a strong suspicion that it’s a great oil for insulin sensitivity.

If you have some time…

http://www.westonaprice.org/knowyourfats/coconut_oil.html

I’ve been using it for cooking instead of EVOO and it’s wonderful. I use a heaping spoonful for cooking eggs in the morning.

[quote]dre wrote:
I’ve been using it for cooking instead of EVOO and it’s wonderful. I use a heaping spoonful for cooking eggs in the morning.[/quote]

yessir. I’ve been mixing in coconut oil for the past 3 months now and look fwd to getting some new bloodwork results (I’m REALLY hoping for an HDL boost) in another eight weeks or so.

That is a very fine link, Derek. Thanks.

I have been doing literature research on this and had not found some of those. Generally speaking, it’s a difficult subject to do literature research on because a vast number of studies use hydrogenated coconut oil, get bad results of course, but in the abstracts and title read simply “coconut oil.” So you have to physically go to a library that has the specific scientific journal (ordinary public libraries generally do not so you may have quite a driving commute required) just to learn that almost every article that seemed relevant, is not.

My conclusion had been that coconut oil, unhydrogenated, and probably preferably cold-pressed though I don’t know if that is necessary, is very healthful and, with regards to insulin sensitivity, most likely a very significant asset. I use 2 ounces per day of the oil personally.