T Nation

Close to Ideal Weight...

I’ve been dieting down a lot (60 pounds since Nov 2010) from obese status to now about 5 pounds from ideal weight. Most of the weight was lost low carb (prob 60g a day), and I went even lower for 2-3 months but I felt like crap, and muscles felt weak and flat. So not really trying to go back to a keto diet everyday.

I’m 5’9 and weigh 155 now, and I want to be at about 150 and in shape i.e. not having a flabby midsection. Upper body is better now than it’s ever been (although nowhere near ‘great’), but the major issue is I still have TONS of belly fat/love handles, etc. See pics attached. Side view can pass as OK, but with front view the extra fat is clear. Do you guys have tips/recommendations on what to do??

Current Diet: 1 month ago, I started the Zig-Zag Carb Cycling For Fat loss, fixed for my weight, which leaves me at:

high days - 1725 cals - 147 prot, 153 c, 60f
low - 1384 cals - 147 prot, 68 c, 60f

I follow something like 3 high, 3 low, 2 high, 3 low. They recommend more high days to keep metabolism high, then low days to burn fat of course, and lots of intense cardio worked especially on high days.

I aim for 100% clean dieting, but usually hit around 85-90%. Case in point, oatmeal, egg whites, whey, chicken breast, brown rice, brown rice cakes (new favorite), olive oil and similar foods all week. But had chicken penne at Applebee’s last night…fail.

Workout: Currently on a 5 day split, with about 40 minutes lifting followed by 20 minutes intense cardio (jump rope, running, or rowing) and I occasionally work in tabatas to the cardio as well (especially for jump rope)

Lost 7 pounds this month on this plan, and strength/lifts are increasing slightly, but this damn belly fat looks exactly the same!! I plan to start Thibadeau’s Star Complexes tomorrow in hopes of burning fat quicker, and plan to add some cardio after if I’m not dead after his workout plan.