Close to Average Strength?

I have been out of lifting for about 3 years. I was in the military and mostly did running and calisthenics. A couple of months ago I started lifting again and have made pretty decent progress. I weigh 210lbs at 5’10. I think my body fat is about 13% (I had it checked with calipers, but only a three point test). Here is were I am so far:

April
Bench 215
Squat 275
Dead 305

Present
Bench 305
Squat 385
Dead 405

I know this is extremely weak for my size, but I am one of those people who could curl 20lb dumbbells and get 19 inch arms. It just sucks being bigger than some of the other guys and not just blowing them away on strength. I am using the WS4SB program slightly modified to fit my personal taste.

PS Sorry if this should have been in the beginner forum

What do you mean ‘average’?

I’d say you’re pretty strong, definitely stronger than the average person, probably even stronger than the average weight trained person, but probably weaker than the average intermediate powerlifter or bodybuilder. Did you post here because you want to get into powerlifting or something? In that case, yes you could work on all your lifts, but i wouldn’t be embarrassed about the level of strength you have and if i were you i wouldn’t hold back from competing if that’s what you want to do. In fact, if you put on knee wraps you’d add a fair bit to your squat straight away, and with some adrenalin from the comp you’ll beat your deadlift PR no worries.

It must suck being one of those people who can get 19 inch arms from curling 20lb dumbells. I feel very sorry for you, i’m sure you’ll get heaps of sympathy because of that terrible disability. :slight_smile: