T Nation

Clogging Your Arteries?

i’m not a bodybuilder nor am i a self-proclaimed health-enthusiast. but i’m trying to make a decent diet, based on what i’ve read over a long span of time on these forums… i’m a busy college student but i’m trying to avoid the usual tendency to eat crap foods. my diet consists primarily of the following:

wheat bread, quaker oats, mini wheats cereal, chicken breast, tuna fish, eggs, salad, fruits, mixed vegetables, whole milk, green tea, natural peanut butter, butter, and olive oil.

i treat myself to junk food too, but only sparingly.

now my mother’s a doctor and from what i’ve gathered, a lot of people in medicine really don’t know what they’re talking about with regards to nutrition (she thinks the food pyramid is a great guide). she told me, however, that the butter, olive oil, natural peanut butter, and whole milk would end up “clogging my arteries” due to too much saturated fat.

i’m pretty sure that’s not true, but technically, i AM taking a lot of saturated fat… however, i know some of you guys take shots of olive oil or drink gallons of milk a day. so what’s the deal - is the saturated fats found in milk/olive oil/natural peanut butter safe to take in? please keep in mind i’m not a body builder. i’m also 5’6" and 130 lbs.

on a side note, i’ve gathered that butter > margarine, as it i’ve read it is much more natural and doesn’t have those nasty things they put in margarine. i only take 1 tbsp of butter a day - is that ok? is that fat found in butter beneficial in any way?

any input appreciated,
thanks.

You owe it to yourself to read Gary Taubes’ “Good Calories, Bad Calories.” It sounds like a bad diet book, but it’s an exhaustively researched debunking of the main myth promulgated by medicine in the last 50 years: that saturated fat and dietary cholesterol are to blame for the incidence of heart disease.

And at 5’6, 130, if it doesn’t clearly tell you, in English, to stop eating it, keep going.