T Nation

Climbing Shoes?

So I'm looking into getting into climbing recreationally (have done some in the past). I'm willing to spend money for quality and comfort, but I don't need anything super fancy, as this will still only be a hobby.

So...what is the best brand/style of shoe for general bouldering/climbing?

I have 5.10 Coyotes that I bought at Sport Chalet. They're entry level lace-ups, but you can also use slip-ons and velcro. I'm also new to it but it's probably safe to assume that the lace models are more secure. You'll want to try them on in person because the brands all fit slightly differently. I wear a 13 in running shoes but I found size 12 fit best in 5.10. There are people out there who say to squash your foot into something 2 or 3 sizes smaller than what fits you which is just preposterous. Also, if the upper is dyed leather your feet will be dyed whatever color the shoe is the first few times you wear them.

La Sportiva, Mad Rock, 5.10, evolv, scarpa and acopa are all good brands.

Don't get some super uncomfortable shoe for a beginner

best imo sportiva or 5.10. They also cost the most.

Lace ups are a pain the ass imo.

squashing your toes is necessary for sending hard shit.

If your new to climbing take these rules to heart.

Rule #1 Dont fuck up and die.

Rule #2 Dont take anyone with you.

I know it sounds harsh, but Ive had friends and acquittances die from climbing accidents.

The Evolv Defy are pretty good beginning shoes, decent build, not too expensive. These are what I got when I started last summer. You might be able to find a pair on Craigslist (I saw some on there when I was looking). I got mine from a sports store on a pretty good discount, I think my pair was ~$60.

And they're velcro for easy-on, easy-off.

And make sure you do try them on. I swear, my feet are at least half a size different from each other, and when you're wearing shoes as tight as climbing shoes, its very noticeable.