T Nation

Climber Looking for Supplement Advice

Hey gang,

I don’t lift anymore, but I take climbing seriously along with bodyweight workouts and still play ball 5-6 days a week. I’m in pretty good shape (5’10" 165# ~10% BF) but looking to ramp up training and get back into really great shape. I’m a FFB and was looking to start taking either I-3G or Plazma but I’m not sure I train hard enough to warrant taking Plazma if I’m not using weights. My diet is always dialed in, something I’m proud of. I’ve been using Biotest supplements for over 10 years now (ZMA, Superfood, Surge) and love them, I just haven’t had the confidence to make the investment in some of the more hardcore training products.

Any thoughts? Cheers!

Steak. Whole eggs. Wild salmon. Salt. Potassium. No need to supplement i.m.o. Perhaps collagen for joint and ligaments.

@A_Dizz I’m a climber also. I second @marine77 but would elaborate a bit,

Collagen, or gelatin. Maybe some glycine.

If you go the gelatin route, I always have a small pre-bed cottage-cheese/gelatin pudding before bed on climbing days. You can add glycine to this to aid with sleep (works that way for most people, 20% of the people experience a non-calming effect on glycine).

Save the Plazma for multi-hour competition events. Or bring finibars (and food, you just want convenient items with you in reserve just in case you receive too small breaks), haven’t tried them myself.

Avoid anything that aids with experiencing a pump.

Creatine.

Very important. Especially on multi-hour climbing sessions outdoors when you are drinking a lot of water and sweating. I just put salt in my water bottles and hide the taste with a few grams of EAAs but I’m sure you can find salt tablets and stuff.

Alston, @A_Dizz, what level are you climbing and what’s an FFB?

@mr.v3lv3t another climber appears!

1 Like

I’ve arrived! Just back from the climbing gym as it turns out.