Cleans/Snatches Full vs. Power

So far, I have only done power cleans and power snatches, but I’m considering starting to do full. I’ve been doing power cleans/power snatches for a few years, always paying very close attention to form, so my form is good.

Anyway, I’m pretty weak out of the bottom of back/front squats, so I’m thinking full cleans and full snatches would be good for me in general. Is there anything specific that I really need to focus on form-wise? Any typical problems people have when going from the power to full style?

why would you change? Why full? If your asking about form, if you are dead set on doing the full versions, it might be wise to get the assistance of a coach for a session or 2. Personally, I wouldn’t change

[quote]escot4 wrote:
Any typical problems people have when going from the power to full style?[/quote]

Most people have trouble(at first) getting their delts under the barbell. You can still throw it up like a power clean, but you have to fall under it before you can catch it, which leaves time for the bar to get off track(i e hitting you in the face/throat). Just go light for the first few sets.

I have difficulty catching with a full clean, but I can’t think of anything in the weight room that is more fun than dropping underneath a loaded barbell into an overhead squat.

It would seem logical that full cleans would have a better effect on your reactivity out of the hole than power cleans…

[quote]jp_dubya wrote:
why would you change? Why full? If your asking about form, if you are dead set on doing the full versions, it might be wise to get the assistance of a coach for a session or 2. Personally, I wouldn’t change[/quote]

You make it sound like I’m considering cheating on my wife. Well, like jtrinsey said, I think it could help my reactivity out of the hole. I wouldn’t completely abandon the power versions, I just want to be able to do both types.

[quote]escot4 wrote: