T Nation

Clean Without Front Squat?

Is it possible to have a high power clean without front squatting.

It's just I back squat and power clean and I wanna know cause i dont like doing front squats anymore

Why “don’t you like” doing front squats any more?

Since a power clean does not involve much of a front squat, sure you could have a “high” power clean whatever you mean by that. How high is it now, and how high do you want it to be?

It isn’t very high seeing as i only weigh 59kg

But my max power clean was 80kg. I pull it up to my chest before dropping under it.

Also I wanna know how many reps/sets should be done to increase power cleans. Its just im not sure if I’m actually becoming more powerful or I have just been adding weight without any gains

Come on now, why don’t you like doing front squats any more?

I’m far from an expert on this, but I think the people who are the best at cleans and power cleans usually use low reps. Thibaudeau likes sets of 3 reps. Lots of sets of 3 reps. With a decent weight.

So I have to keep to the low reps thanks

I started doing front squats because i had no rack at home and had to power clean and then front squat. I know they’re easier to do but I find its more tiring especially when holding it up. It’s just i love back squatting more.

you don’t need to front squat to powerclean. that is kind of the point of powercleans instead of full cleans. to eliminate the squat component. what do you mean by ‘high’? do you mean pulling the bar to your delts with minimal knee bend or do you mean lots of weight on the bar or do you mean some combination of both?

it will be possible (for the appropriately strong and technically proficient) to squatclean more than they powerclean. the legs (when properly trained) can stand up weights that the body can’t propel high enough to rack on the delts.