Clean Problems - Help?

While I have been lifting off and on for many years, only in the last 2 years or so I have made any real progress and I owe that mainly too T-Nation and doing the right lifts. Primarily I am refering to Dead Lifts, Squats and Pull Ups (I was already benching of course!).

While I have read a lot about other lifts including cleans I have never been that interested. A few months ago I worked out with a friend of mine and he wanted to do cleans, so we did. I really enjoyed the feeling and ended up dong a few work outs with them. I was able to clean 185 by the third week and was pretty excited. But then the next day my elbows hurt a lot. It took over a week for them to feel better and when I did cleans again they immediately started hurting. I ended up losing interest and getting involved in another program.

To sum it up, I am finishing up my current program in 2 weeks and looking ahead to what is next. I would like to incorporate cleans but having those elbow problems was miserable. Obviously it must be something I am doing wrong but I can’t figure it out. Any advice is appreciated.

Elbows pointing down or forwards when you receive the bar? They should be up as high as you can get them. The bar should be racked across the shoulders, not caught on the wrists. i.e. the receiving position should be the same as the start of a front squat, not the start of a military press. Elbow pain might also be a result of pulling with the arms too much - the arms should be used to pull your body under the bar, not to pull the bar “high enough” to receive (it’s always high enough as long as you’re fast enough).

might need to practice the form with less weight before. check this link,look at the still images it helps. When I learned this lift I used to practice with a piece of doweling in between sets.

www.exrx.net/WeightExercises/OlympicLifts/Clean.html