Civilian Jobs Marines Do After Service?

Hi all,

A friend of mine was in the Marines. He finished up his service a while back, took some time off, and now he is looking for a job and/or career. What are some civilian jobs that Marines do that appeal to their Marine-ness?

To focus the answers: I’m looking for suggestions along the line of “I served as a Marine and now I’m a carpenter. I like it because it appeals to my Marine sense of …”

I’m not looking for: “I served as a Marine and now I’m a carpenter. I like it because I like working with my hands”. Nor am I looking for “What does your friend like to do?” and other generic career advice. That much he already has.

Thanks all.

Wow…that’s you narrowing it down a bit.

How about Marine Biologist? Only one more word on a resume.

Civil service, Vets get a preference over straight civilians. Tell your friend to go to his local VA office and talk to a Rep. Check out state websites where they post job offerings and requirements.

[quote]Colin Wilson wrote:
Civil service, Vets get a preference over straight civilians. Tell your friend to go to his local VA office and talk to a Rep. Check out state websites where they post job offerings and requirements. [/quote]

^times 1000. And what did he do in the marines? As I do find it fun to think that they just wake up do pushups and talk about the best ways to kill all day that is not the case. Everyone has a “JOB” a Skill that they picked went to school for and developed thru there time in. Find that out and you can help your friend a little better.

I thought Marines either joined the police force, or became alcoholics. Or drift around until they get roughed up and driven out of town by small town police, are chased into the woods and turn the tables on their pursuers using skills they learnt in the Marines. Usually after a few explosions and awesome acts of revenge they arrive home and become a carpenter or something because they like working with their hands.