T Nation

Circuit Training Advice

I am 27, 5"10, 235lbs,20% bf, and have a 35 inch waist. I use to be in great shape and fell out of the routine. I do not care what my weight is, I just want an atheletic look again. I have been working out hard for 6 months and have not seen great results.

Here is my work out. I do every muscle group once a week for a total of 3 days lifting. I do 2 sets of a reverse pyramid for each muscle consisting of 12,10,8,10,12. I do 20 minutes of intense cardio 5 to 6 days a week including after my lifting workouts. My heart rate is usualy around 90%. I just want a lean look. Any suggestions and help would be appreciated.

[quote]jbrown wrote:
I do every muscle group once a week for a total of 3 days lifting. [/quote]

Yah if you want drastic changes 3 days of working out a week isn’t gonna do it. Up it to 5-6.

Change your diet.

So I should do each muscle twice a week? Should 2o minutes of cardio after that be enough?

Have you read Charles Poliquin’s German Body Comp? Get it, do exactly what it says, and you will get the results you want. I’d also advise going on a Keto diet.

You should check out Thibs’ Refined Transformation’ articles and follow those. That’s exactly what you need.

Yeah, I agree.

Jbrown,
Serious question: I don’t quite understand your post. Where is the circuit training? Can you post your training in more detail?

I agree with Waylanderxx’s advice. If you train with more frequency, you will burn more calories. Weight training is a superior substitute for cardio if you are new or just returning to training (most people, unfortunately, think they are overtraining before they start, so they will fill the gaps with cardio). You can expend more energy doing five one hour sessions of lifting per week vs. three sessions & additional cardio (I’m assuming “intense” means interval sprints. If not, you aren’t really doing the most intense cardio).