Christian T's OVT Program

Hey all,

I’m not new to lifting weights, but I am new to many of the exercises prescribed in the OVT program. Problem is, the past two years I’ve been training upper body (I’m sure you guys know how common this idiocy is). Lately though, I had an epiphany I guess you can say, after reading many of the articles on the importance of training legs here and seeing my gains slowing down (I see absence of leg training the biggest culprit here). I guess one can train “what he sees in the mirror” only for so long. Anyways, BIG rookie mistake I guess. I love lifting though, and I figure I’m gonna do it at all, I better do it right. I started TC’s chanko diet this week and so far have not broken it (one week, what a pussy right?) So here’s the question: For someone whos got minimal experience in deads and squats (I’m more worried about my deads), is the OVT a good program to start with? (Given that it incorporates sumo deads, Romanian deads) Or do you advise I adopt a more basic program and incorporate some squats and deads into it. Remember, I just started a new diet too (chanko). Before that, I would basically eat anything and everything. Some basic stats (which may or may not be helpful):

Age 20
Weight 178 (I was 185 heaviest while lifting; seem to lose weight when I take time off)
Height 5’11.5"
Not sure about fat %
Weak Points: Back, Legs (serious lacking in calves)
Strong Points: Chest, Arms, don’t consider my Shoulders strong or weak

Oh, also I’ve taken much of the summer off from lifting (what a pussy, again right?), so basically this has been my first week back.

I welcome all kinds of feedback from you guys, very eager to learn.

i could probably find a few webcam pics i took during the summer, if that would help…