T Nation

Chris Shugart - you out there?

Chris - I was on John Berardi’s website and he mentioned that you may have penned an article on nutrition geared toward newbies. Is this true? Where can I find it?

Thanks in advance!

I’ve penned a lot of articles about nutrition, many geared toward newbies, so I’m not sure which one you mean. John may have also been talking about an article I’m working on but haven’t finished yet. What kind of info are you looking for exactly?

You can also hit the “previous issues” button over on the left and just look for my name. Over one hundred articles there from me so I’m sure you’ll find the info you’re looking for. If not, let me know.

Chris - thanks for the reply! I’ll look forward to the article in progress, and I will re-read your articles. What I’m looking for I guess is a dummies guide to nutrition. I’m not really a newbie, it’s just sometimes the information in those articles can be a little hard to digest (pardon the pun). Maybe I’m just being a lazy bastard. In my case for instance, I know that my diet sucks and I’ve been working to resolve that, it’s just how do I dissect all the information and get out what’s appropriate for me? I’m trying to adjust my eating habits, and lose fat while maintaining the mass I’ve gained. Gee, who isn’t? The info I’m most interested in would be what are good fruits to eat, what kind of grains can I eat, what’s the GI - where can I get a good book on it and is there a cheat sheet? When’s the best time to eat fruits, grains, etc. I realize that everyone is different, but is there a blanket rule that applies to most foods and individuals?

I appreciate your thoughts on this.