Choosing the Best Supplement Duo for Gaining

I’m fairly new to T-Nation. When I became a member I was about to begin a mass phase, and in preparation for that, I bought Surge Work Out Fuel and Surge Recovery. Now, I love both of these products, but I’ve seen so many stellar reviews of Anaconda I’ve been thinking about switching things up for the second half of my current mass phase.

Like most people, I’m operating on a budget. All I can really afford is 1 pre work out and 1 post work out supp. As a lifter, I’m a relative beginner–about 1.5 years of solid training and naturally on the skinny side (low 170s at 6’0). I struggle to gain mass but have managed to pack on 7-10 pounds in the last 8 months.

So, what would be the best product combo for someone with my body type and experience level to keep getting bigger and stronger? Oh, and I’m not sure if this makes a difference, but I’m also going to take creatine before and after each lifting session.

1. Surge Work Out Fuel and Surge Recovery

2. Anaconda and Surge Recovery

3. Anaconda and MAG-10

If it’s option #2, should Surge Recovery still be taken immediately following a work out, or does there need to be some sort of grace period for the Casein in Anaconda to be further digested before adding a recovery product on top of it?

If the best option is #3, and therefore includes MAG-10, when should the first post workout meal be eaten? An hour or two after the MAG-10 (2-3 hours post work out)? Casein (main ingredient in both Anaconda and MAG-10) has always been a purely “before bed” protein for me, so I’m not sure of the timing or how to incorporate a slow-digesting protein into a day-time meal plan.

7#s in the last 8 months.

Eat more food, forget the supplements for now, your nutrition is not in line to put the supplements to good use.

If you put as much effort into your daily eating and being consistent as your thought process to this thread, you’ll be making better progress.