Chin-Up/Pull-Up Help Needed

hey guys,
So I have been working out for 6 months now and for some reason I still cant do these.
I weigh around 170 at 17-18% body fat and I can deadlift 295x5 but for some reason i cant do these simple exersizes. I dont understand why. A friend of mine told me that maybe i dont know how to activate the musscles needed but is it really that complicated. Also i have been doing negitives throughout theese 6 months on and off and it has helped but no where near the results i want.

So I was wondering if anyone else had my problem and any tips on what to do.

[quote]samaha wrote:
hey guys,
So I have been working out for 6 months now and for some reason I still cant do these.
I weigh around 170 at 17-18% body fat and I can deadlift 295x5 but for some reason i cant do these simple exersizes. I dont understand why. A friend of mine told me that maybe i dont know how to activate the musscles needed but is it really that complicated. Also i have been doing negitives throughout theese 6 months on and off and it has helped but no where near the results i want.

[/quote]

First, deadlifts really have nothing to do with the ability to do pullups.

But think about what you’re doing with pullups, and compare that to how you got there with deadlifts. I don’t think the first time you did deadlifts you tried to lift 295. If all you ever tried to do was deadlift 295 for 6 months, and you tried things like negatives, I doubt you’d be able to lift it.

I’m assuming you started with something lighter than 295, then added some weight, and worked your way up to 295.

If you’re having trouble doing pullups, you’re not strong enough to do straight pullups. You need to start lighter and work up to being able to pull your body up. Start light, add weight.

One option is to use a pulldown machine, and just progress in that weight. Another option is finding a way to do assisted pullups, either with a machine, a partner, or using leverage.