Children on an IFBB Stage?!

Dunno if anyone else has seen this being thrown up all over the last day or so… I don’t know the full story though, but I’m sure the “how young is too young?” Question will come up.

I don’t know the full story either, but I’ll offer a hot take anyway…

I think it’s a fine idea for kid to lift weights in general (I started lifting on and off with my dad when I was 9, and really committed to it around 12-13 for sports) but my opinion would be that’s best in support of other athletic pursuits, or maybe for the self-satisfaction of achieving some goals, like competing in your first powerlifting meet. I don’t think putting pre-adolescents on stage for any sort of physique-judgement contest is a good idea, especially not kids as young as those shown in the photos (how old are they, 8 or 9?)

3 Likes

I agree, and would add:

1. I question whether contest-style dieting is appropriate for growing children; and
  2. I worry about the psychological effects on young children that may follow from asking them to present themselves in a sexualized manner (eg, 10 y.o. girls shouldn’t be worried about the appearance of their ‘glute-ham tie-in’).
5 Likes

Like everyone else I don’t know the backstory to these photos in particular but as a lifter and a father I can say:

1. I would be okay with my kids doing this, as long as they were willing to do it safely, listen and learn. I would NEVER pressure them to do it (or do anything, sports or otherwise) if they really didn’t want to.

2. If I had found lifting and competing at a young age I think it would have helped me steer clear of a lot of the trouble I got myself into as a teenager.

Just my $.02.

1 Like

I’;m certainly all for teaching children about fitness, and even letting them aspire to pump up and look like their favorite heros when they’re older, BUT, putting them in an arena where they will be JUDGED on superficial traits,… that’s just asking for issues.

S

4 Likes

it’s just creepy.