Chest

I’ve been doing only flat bench pressing mostly for 2 years, and recently added dips. My friend says I should add flyes to “stretch” the muscle so I have a wider chest but anatomically it doesn’t seem to make sense to me.

He also recommends 3-4 chest exercises and I have only been doing one so far with 5x5. I do however get most growth in front delts and lower chest, any advice how I can change this aesthetically. Can I get a bullshit call on his advice, thanks in advance.

PS: only got access to freeweights.

[quote]ill wrote:
I’ve been doing only flat bench pressing mostly for 2 years, and recently added dips. My friend says I should add flyes to “stretch” the muscle so I have a wider chest but anatomically it doesn’t seem to make sense to me.

He also recommends 3-4 chest exercises and I have only been doing one so far with 5x5. I do however get most growth in front delts and lower chest, any advice how I can change this aesthetically. Can I get a bullshit call on his advice, thanks in advance.

PS: only got access to freeweights.[/quote]

Your daily volume must be in concert with your weekly volume. In other words, how often per week do you hit chest? This will determine how many sets/reps you should be performing.

Front delts usually can be addressed with proper form. Tight arch, shoulders blades pinched, shoulder width or slightly narrower or wider depending on anatomical structure–should put the focus on the chest.

There is nothing wrong with flyes. I don’t know about the ‘stretch’ but I do some type of flye once a week or so. And I am in a 3x a week routine right now. I prefer the cable version. Take a pronated grip and keep your arms slightly bent-but barely-now focus on touching your elbows. Bring the weights to center, squeeze do again.

It’s definitely time to switch things up if all you’ve been doing is the flat bench press for 5x5 for the past two years.

If you want to get stronger in the bench press, the real secret is to bench more!