T Nation

Chest/Triceps/Shoulders and Back/Legs/Biceps

Hey! I am a Novice lifter, lifted since january, and my lifts have increase well. But i am thinking about changing it a bit.

Will it work to do Chest/triceps/shoulders and then back/legs/biceps? Doing it 4 times a week, Monday-Tuesday-Off-Thursday-Friday-Off-Off? Would that work?

I’m not personally a fan of pairing legs with anything else. I find it too taxing. I suppose you could do a little arms or something after legs, but certainly not something like back.

Really, you just have to try it and see.

There are hundreds of fully written programs on this site. I dont get it.

Some reckommendations on program?

Like i said i am a Novice lifter, and have very very little muscle, so my goal is to add musclemass fast. I am currently using the upper/lower one, but i dont like to train the lower seperately two days a week, because i feel that i then dont get enough pump on the upper part.

So is it a program out there which is 4 day/week, trains ur musclegroups 2 times/week, but involves the upper part 3/4 days in the gym?

do the original 5/3/1 or WS4SB.

Both of those programs will get you where you want to go. Neither of them satisfy your criteria, but both of them are awesome.

As a novice this is definitely doable…as an intermediate or beyond doing back + legs (within a bbing routine) might be a bit much/lead to an overcrowded routine. Just keep the volume within sensible bounds.

Ok, thanks. But what do u think about the 531 BBB program? https://www.t-nation.com/workouts/boring-but-big-3-month-challenge

And why do i need to do just 50% of my max the first month? If i reduce the sets, can i do 100% of TM? I am doing it currently at my upper/lower Routine, and have no problem adding more weight every week. This program looked even better.

it’s damn good. Another very popular variation is called “Building The Monolith.” It’d be very good for you goals so you might want to look into it.