T Nation

Chest Supported Row Machine

Does anyone have a recommendation on a chest supported row machine for our home gym?

Not much help here but the only one Ive ever used was a cybex machine in rehab, sorry cant be more help.

Hammer Strength. No offense, but my honest opinion is that unless you are mostly into powerlifting and buying power racks and a bench, trying to stock a home gym well enough to support real progressive development would cost close to 10,000 bucks or more. It is simply cheaper to join a gym...unless you live on an island far away from any of those.

Then again, if your goals are to "tone" and "sculpt", you can probably build a home gym for the price of one of those ab trainers they sell on tv after 2am.

Prof. X,
Not a newbie here. 6'6 285lbs. Highland Gamer. Have about $5000.00 in our home gym already.
We live waaaaaaay out in the country with no good gyms withing 45 min.

Nobody ever built an impressive physique without a commercial facility full of chrome-plated wonder machines.

http://www.fitnessfactory.com/Item.aspx?ItemID=338&ItemLabel=WSRM40%3a+Body-Solid+Seated+Row+Machine

I would be worried about that really lasting long term, especially for someone this guy's size.

Couldn't you just do bent over barbell rows?

I wouldn't be overly concerned. I'm 228lbs and have had no issues w/ any of my of Body-Solid equipment.

• 2"x2"x3/16" steel tube construction
  • 5/8" steel pivot point
  • bronze bushings
  • lifetime warranty
  • $349 shipped
  • Best deal I've seen around

A far as machines go, Hammer Strength is absolutely the best. They feel natural... smooth... AND they work the target muscles.

my .02

You don't NEED machines; they are nice to have but a barbell, adjustable dumbbells, power rack, and a bench is all you need.

Any reason you need a chest supported row? If not, I don't think you can beat a simple plate-loaded seated cable unit (most are dual lat pulldown/seated row types).