T Nation

Chest Just Wont Keep Up???

Hey guys. So I am a newbie when it comes to lifitng. I have lifted many times in the past, but this is my first time that I have consistently stuck to a program, accompanied with a proper diet.

I’m 6 foot even, 155lbs. with 11% body fat. My Diet is in check (about 3500 calories everyday, lifting and rest days). I have been following CW’s “Big Boy Basics” program to a T. I missed only two workouts in the past 5 weeks. And that was done on purpose (I will explain later on).

So here’s my question. In these past 5 or 6 weeks I’ve been eating and lifting, I have gained about 10 pounds and my progress is amazing. Amazing in every muscle group except the chest. Every exercise he has me doing has improved dramatically. Legs, shoulders, arms, back, etc. So I’m wondering why my chest just inst going anywhere. I started my bench with 125 and struggled on my first day. (I know thats not much, but thats my reason for coming to the site.) Now for the past 3 weeks I have been stuck at 145 /155. I can get 155 for my first 5 sets, then I just completely fail. So I drop it to 145 and struggle on the last 3 sets. So I thought Id stick to 145 and get that down perfectly. SO last week I did 145, with no spot for 9 sets instead of 8. So that means that I should be able to bump the weight up a bit, but last night i tried 155 again, and it just wouldn’t go up.

So whats going on here. Everything else is amazing me, but my chest just wont go anywhere.

Back to taking my two days off. I took my last two lifting days off last week in hopes that the extra rest might get me somewhere. But it did not. Please help. Thank you.

Hey man. I’ve got more or less the same issue. You might want to see if any of the advice works for you that I got. I haven’t tried it yet (tomorrow night will be the first) so I can’t tell you what worked, but it might spark some ideas for you.

http://www.T-Nation.com/readTopic.do?id=1369974

[quote]double_a wrote: