T Nation

Chemistry Graduate School and Weight Training

Anybody here in or has been in a chemistry grad program? How did you guys manage to fit training into a busy schedule like a Ph.D. program? I was talking to my research professor (a synthetic organic chemist) and she was talking about how she pulled 20 hr days her 1st year of grad school, and then on. That makes me sad. :frowning:

Anyone share similar experiences, or did you have time for the gym?

I am not a chem grad student, but I am a philosophy grad student. Unfortunately I can't help you much, because I haven't been able to keep consistent at training since my second year as an undergrad. Normally I go in cycles, I'll go a semester or so where I can consistently get into the gym 3 times a week, but then school just becomes too much and it's like once a week if that. The only way I can even do that though is by working out in the morning (6am or so).

So if I have any advice, it's get your workout in early, or you probably won't get to it at all. I understand your plight though... when I was in highschool I trained around 5 days a week and competed in local powerlifting meets, etc. Now about all I have time for is to maintain the strength level I've had since higschool (for some perspective, my best meet lifts in gear where 500/330/475, at a bw of 175ish. Now I'm around 195 and my raw lifts are around 475/300/500).