T Nation

Cheapest Diet in Australia Possible

I can shop at woolworths .so Basically donthave much money,cant get a job and need the cheaoest diet possible with high calories,protein and carbs because im a 15 year old and my metabolism is super high,
Im not able to eat enough and lately iv been getting sick alot and when i go to the gym to train i have no energy.
Someone help please

Well, I’m not familiar with Woolworth’s or food prices specifically in Australia, but typical budget foods include:
Eggs
Rice
Potatoes
Pasta
Ground meat (beef, pork, Turkey, chicken, etc.)
Canned Tuna
Bags of frozen veggies

And for what it’s worth, this is typically what I eat.

Roadkill.

Seriously though, the cheapest diet will be rice, beans, potatoes, and what ever protein is cheap at the time.

Yep, another great, cheap food choice.

Just keep your eye out for sales. Keep your diet simple and buy in bulk.

I feel like I’m in a similar position because I’m a student and don’t have a lot of disposable income.

I usually buy a big bag of frozen peas, sweetcorn and carrots for around £1 each about once a week. Also buy 1kg of pasta or rice, whatever you fancy which is also around £1-2. Then I buy chicken (usually diced) which is £7 for 700g which lasts me four meals. The chicken can definitely be done a lot cheaper though.

My diet is pretty rubbish and a constant work in progress. I often skip breakfast and have a lot of shakes with oats in but recently I’ve started buying baked beans and eggs to have for breakfast too which I imagine will get my calories between 2000 and 3000 with two meals like above. I’m not sure how much they cost when bought in bulk because I haven’t got round to it yet but I’m sure if you go to a farmers market or something eggs are really really cheap.