T Nation

Cheap Paleo Diet for an Athlete?

Im about to go back to college soon and was looking into the paleo diet. My friend said he's been doing it for a year now and looks to be like he's seeing results. I run cross country and do a fair amount of lifting as well and was wondering if the amount of cardio I do would require a change in the typical paleo diet.

Also since I'm a college student i'm trying to eat cheaply. I have a cap of 70 a week for food. I'm 6ft and weight is 160. I'm around 11% body fat. I'm looking to build a little more lean muscle and power as well as reduce my body fat to 6%. Any advice on the diet, workouts, and anything else would be appreciated.

Do you understand how lean 6% is?

Also, do a search on "build muscle and lose fat." You'll usually see a lot of rage.

70 bucks a week:

Peanut butter--two jars
Ground beef
Chicken breasts
Cheap protein powder
Cabbage (boil it--it's delicious).
1-2lb bags of almonds.

Learn to cook. Boring. Simple. Effective.

Rice, potato, fruit, don't be afraid of these things.