Cheap Food Plans for Beginners

Hey guys, I’m a poor college student and I’m looking for ways to create a good food plan at the cheepest price possible. I don’t have a lot of time to prepare food in the kitchen or at work so I perfer foods that I can stuff in the microwave or eat strait out of the fridge. I’m looking for healthy food… I’m a beginner so I’m trying to develop good habits for my training and an easy plan to stick to. I’m looking at taking in around 4500 cal. a day. Any sugesstions?

Right now my plan includes:

1 protein shake in the AM

morning snack of yogurt and granola

1 “subway” sandwich at lunch(daily special) loaded with extra veggies

High protein microwave dinner

1 protein shake for night snack

I know I’m not eating enough, but like I said… I’m a poor 23 y/o. I started training pretty heavy about a month ago and now my appetite is raging.

Thanks guys!

Have a few tips for ya:

1. Fruit & Veggies! Carrots, broccoli, lettuce etc. Look at the prices and go from there (blueberries are expensive most of the year, but bananas are always cheap). Eat’em raw as part of your meals and as snacks.

2. Cottage cheese - cheap and great protein source. I love it plain but others add anything from fruit to hot-sauce to it for flavor.

3. Eggs - boil a bunch on sunday and store in fridge for snacks.

4. Tuna - it’s meat…and it’s cheap!

5. Ground beef - learn to cook chili (I hear Kuz has an awesome recipe, haven’t seen it yet tho). Make a bunch and freeze in meal sized containers. You can add ground beef to almost anything, cheap and it’s meat.

6. Invest in a George Foreman grill (or one like it). Can’t afford one? Ask for one for birthday/christmas from parents. It will save you money in the long run! Buy your meat in bulk to save and grill your way to better eating.