Cheap Food for Tight Budget

Hey guys,
I was wondering what those who live away from home (e.g. collage or university) do get all their food (mainly protein) on a cheap budget? I’m currently studying away from home an my wallet is a bit thin at the moment, so I was curious as to any cheap and nutritionally healthy foods that you guys buy. As I’m trying to gain size I assume things like peanut butter (high in calories) would be useful and its pretty cheap. Its a bit tough for me to buy steak all the time with my allowance and most of the other students eat like shit (e.g. 2min noodles, maccas, lollies).
So yea any advice or idea’s would be great
thanks

[quote]gdform wrote:
Hey guys,
I was wondering what those who live away from home (e.g. collage or university) do get all their food (mainly protein) on a cheap budget? I’m currently studying away from home an my wallet is a bit thin at the moment, so I was curious as to any cheap and nutritionally healthy foods that you guys buy. As I’m trying to gain size I assume things like peanut butter (high in calories) would be useful and its pretty cheap. Its a bit tough for me to buy steak all the time with my allowance and most of the other students eat like shit (e.g. 2min noodles, maccas, lollies).
So yea any advice or idea’s would be great
thanks[/quote]

Ground beef, eggs, broccoli, potatoes, rice, eggs, lamb, most birds, eggs, and more eggs.

if you are good with dairy milk, cottage cheese, greek yoghurt.

can you get to an aldi store? they have cheap fish. tinned tuna for less than $1 per can. wild pacific salmon. their frozen fish is pretty good, too.

white rice, milk, pb, tuna all pretty cheap

If you go to the grocery store a couple times a week, usually you can get really good deals on meat that is near expiring (you won’t die…they are over-safe with that stuff). If you’re poor don’t be too picky about what type of meat.

Canned chicken/tuna is really cheap as well.

Beef and lamb liver are cheap and very tasty!