T Nation

Charity Boxing Event Training

I don’t really post on this site, but I’ve read a lot of the articles and spent some time reading through the combat postings. I’m going to be “competing” in a white-collar/charity style boxing event this November, giving me about 5 or so months to prepare. I’ve been training for a year and have some experience sparring. If anyone wants to give me some advice, I’m all ears.

I have two big training challenges. First, my back is a little jacked up and I tweak it from time to time. I did so this Sat while sparring. Will sideline me for about a week. My approach here is to focus on doing Stuart McGill’s suggested back exercises on a daily basis as well as foam rolling/stretching/sauna.

The second challenge is my job. I’m a lawyer and can work up to 100 hr weeks. Obviously that much sitting doesn’t help my back and the lack of sleep/stress hurts my training.

The current game plan has been a Wendler 2x a week lifting routine (A Day: Squat, Bench and B Day: Cleans, Press), sparring once a week, and as much running/boxing as my body and schedule will allow. I’m thinking of really only doing light weights from here on out and focusing on pushups/pullups/back exercises in the interest of not injuring my back. I realize the most important thing is going to be technique, relaxation and conditioning, but I do tend to get pretty soft without weights which is why I’ve kept it as part of the routine.

What is your actual boxing background? Do you have access to a boxing coach? IMO working with a reputable coach and sparring/drilling as regularly as your schedule allows will be critical. If time and recovery challenges are limiting you to just one boxing session a week, I really think you should restructure your training to include more boxing and less other stuff.

There have been numerous threads on this board in the past concerning this topic, if you wanted to do some digging.