Changing Squat Form

I injured my hamstring in August, so to help with this I changed my form and went to a more low bar position and narrowed my stance quite a bit, so I could squat deep (6-7 inches below parallel). It forced to me to stop 5/3/1 for a while and switch to a linear progression approach so that I could get back to where I was while on 5/3/1.

Once I got back on 5/3/1, I started training my posterior chain alot and without me doing anything my stance got a lot wider and my squat became more hip dominant. It’s been almost 4 months back on 5/3/1, my lifts have gone up A LOT, however, I’ve now got high hamstring tendinopathy, my knee also hurts a bit when I squat and I’m no longer able to squat deep as I’d like (I prefer squatting deep)

One thing that helps all of my issues is narrowing my stance by about an 2 inches per foot. If I did this would it be possible to stick to the current numbers? I really dont want to take time off again.

To answer your question, I don’t know but probably not. You won’t know until you try.

I do have a question myself, though: what is your reason for preferring to squat so deep? Is it more comfortable? Do you lift more weight that way? I ask because I’ve always been able to squat reasonably deep, but it isn’t great for me. I do better about an inch below parallel, maybe two at most.

squatting deep just takes all of the guess work out for me. I’ve got long femurs so every time I squat to just parallel, I have to do the judging and I often end up high or just at parallel.

You’re right… even if I am able to keep the numbers the same, I’ll have to go light. I felt something shift in my hamstring while squatting yesterday and it was painful.