T Nation

Changing a Fat Boy

Yes, I’m new. Yes, I’m Fat and yes, I’ve been Lazy.

Thats all about to change.

Currently I weigh 360 lbs. I’m 5’ 11" and at 360 I wouldn’t want to even guess at a body fat percentage.

I have already started to change my diet. I’ve added lots of water, took away the soda, crappy fast food and started to eat cleaner.

My question:

Is the V diet for me?

I know it’s based off of a diet for the morbidly obese, but would a clean “whole food” approach be better for somebody my size?

Or would the sledge hammer effect of the V-diet be more effective?

Thanks,
Joe

Well, if you just change your eating habits a little you should see some major changes.

The best advice I can give you is walk to buy your food, drink lots of water cut out all simple carbs - sugar etc.

Once you have done that for a few months start thinking about the v diet.

I am by no means an expert, I’m probably on the same level as you as far as nutritional knowledge goes… but the V diet IS NOT
for you.

The V-Diet, I would say, is more of a quick cutting diet than a fat cutting diet.
You needs lots of fiber and protein in your diet
this means greens, more meals in smaller portions etc.

You will cut a lot of weight quickly but it will slow down eventually.

Do you run/lift? Any cardio?

FREEZE, DON’T MOVE, STEP AWAY from the vdiet, though it is a great diet, it is completely wrong for you; regardless of the fact that a new dieter isn’t going to have the will power to succeed on it.

You need the only proven diet; eat less, move more.