Changing 5/3/1 Assistance After 2 Yrs

I was thinking about posting this on bodybuilding forum, but still strength is my priority so maybe this is the right place.

I’ve been doing 5/3/1 for the last two years. Mostly triumvirate or bodyweight template. I’ve had great progress with deadlift, good with squat, moderate with bench and almost none with military. I don’t really care for the last two, my pressing always sucked and now is still better then ever.

On the other hand this huge disproportion (220kg/484lbs deadlift vs. 110kg/242lbs bench 65kg/143lbs military) is really showing in my physique and I’m starting to look like flying squirrel. At 90kg/190cm i feel I’m definitely to skinny (except my back).

This is what i was thinking of (note that i have a shoulder problem and don’t want to press that much so bbb for bench and military is not an option.):

Day 1
Bench Pres 5/3/1 superseted with barebell rows 5/3/1 (not really a hypertrophy thing but i liked an idea when Wendler wrote about it) then dumbell flies 5x10

Day 2
Deadlift 5/3/1, Deadlift BBB, Shrugs, Neck Harness

Day 3
Military Press 5/3/1 supersetted with chin ups, DeFrancoe’s shoulder shockers, dips

Day 4
Squat 5/3/1, Abs, Calves

I want to add some direct biceps work (well if I’m going to do calves i might do another facebook muscle too.) but I’m not sure when. Military day?

Any opinions would be appreciate

Original Post: 12:37 pm

I would do BBB Squats as an assistive exercise to add mass. Are you doing chest dips or triceps dips? Can your shoulders handle Incline Bench Pressing or lateral raises? Incline Bench Press makes my chest look bigger.

With curls, Wendler has said something like “do them whenever, they are just curls” – I would do them on either upper body day, probably the one for which your biceps feel freshest after the rows or pullups.

I also second FX’s suggestion of BBB squats.