T Nation

Changed Gym, Changing Routine

Alright I've been doing SL 5x5 for 3 months with amazing results but I had to leave my old gym and this one doesn't have 2,5lb plates which would fit on olympic bar (they are like 30mm and Olympic is 55mm) so I can't steadily progress on any of my lifts anymore. I haven't stalled on squat or deadlift yet, but I feel that I'm very close close to it, I'm working with like 95% of my 5x5 RM every time. So now I'm thinking about changing to Lyle's generic bulking routine. Would this be a good idea?
Stats:

Weight: 155lbs
Height: 5 foot 7 3/4
16 y/o
Bodyfat: 13% estimate(I can still see my abs)

Lifts: (no belt or anything)

Squat: last session was 231 5x5 (1.5xBW)
Deadlift: 264 1x5
Bench Press: max was 165 lbs for 5x5 (1Rm will be like 220lbs maybe, estimators are wrong for my lifts)
overhead press: 120 lbs 5x5

Just do your best use bigger plates if you have to. All I can suggest is to buy a pair of 2.5 lbs plates and put them in your gym bag or get yourself some plate mates.

http://theplatemate.com/

or use an extra set of the safety collar things that hold the weights on the bar.

I'd get all the plates possible if I would live in US, but I don't, so the shipping alone would cost like 2x the price the plates cost

Surley you can buy weights in your country where do you live Antartica. If you live in a metric system country eg aus uk nz get yourself a pair of 1.25kg plates or use a pair of metal collars like the other poster advised.

If you cannot get the plates, another option is to go to a hardware store and have them cut you a length of chain, whatever will fit best around the bar properly, and figure out what chain they have that will be closed to the 2.5 lbs / 1.25 kgs or whatever you want.

Personally, without the smaller plates I would try just modifying the program as little as possible if you are still progressing on it -- probably just jump weight only every other time, repeating the same weight otherwise.