Change...

This post is a little different. I don’t really have a question. It is a little long winded, but please hear me out. I have noticed that often times young lifters (approx. 16-19 yrs) will post questions and get seemingly ‘harsh’ advice, and may feel that they are being ‘picked on’ by vets because of young age. I don’t think that is the intention. Let me explain.

You see, when I started training over 15 years ago, there was no internet. The only ‘advice’ you could get was from muscle rags who pushed 20 sets to failure, 6 days a week and to eat as much fatty food as possible. After all, that is what all the ‘champs’ did, right ? There were no effective supplements. Back then the only protein supplements you could get were old, denatured, worthless powder. I wasted my first several training years making virtually no progress. I eventually got my ‘program’ together and made some actually pretty good progress between ages 17-20 training each bodypart 3 times weekly and basically eating everything in sight. You may laugh, but back then that was the best you could do and the best of the current knowledge at the time. It was the twilight zone after anabolics became scheduled drugs and before any effective natural supps were discovered. Anyway, as Ian’s article in this week’s T-mag issue has elucidated, the favorable hormone profile of the late teen years declines rapidly. By the time I was 22, I could already notice a largely diminished recovery ability and metabolic slowdown.