Change in Training Method

Hi. Long-term reader; 1st post.

I am 51 and have lifted weights since high school. I have developed lifter’s shoulder and I have an appointment with an orthopedist on Thursday. I’d like to ask some questions to be prepared for my appointment. I’d like to thank everyone in advance for the help.

If he suggests surgery, is the expectation a return to unlimited activity? Do people who have the surgery return to full heavy lifting?

I am studying Paul “Coach” Wade’s book on the use of body-weight exercises for high-level muscle development. He makes a good case that the old-time strongmen had techniques they used for extreme strength development before the Nautilus. He claims that it’s much easier on the joints. Is this a realistic approach, or is he just blowing smoke?

Right now, my max bench is 305 and my max deadlift 345. Can I maintain my level of muscle development with his methods?

Are there particular questions I need to present to my surgeon about switching to bodyweight-based training? He and I have known each other socially for several years, so I know he won’t mind spending some time talking with me about options.

If you think Wade’s option is realistic, what should I present to my doctor to see if switching to that is an option without surgery?

Is the expected outcome of the surgery so good that, if it’s suggested, I should just say “Screw it” and go for the surgery? I’ve had a hip replacement and was able to return to weight training, so if a full return to “normal” is realistic, I’m not adverse to it.

Are there other questions I need to ask?

Again, thank you in advance for the help. I’d like to go in as prepared for the assessment as possible.

evening,