T Nation

Chain Saws

I own 3 chain saws. One each, Poulan, Steele and Husqvarna. I cut some wood this weekend and came to the conclusion that all 3 suck donkey balls. I need recommendations on a new one. Make this awesome by posting a picture of your saw(s) if you want to, preferably being held by a hot chick in a bikini.

This is kind of in my wheelhouse. I’ve got 11 years’ professional tree care experience. The answer will depend on your experience, needs and price range.

My off the cuff answer is the Stihl MS 441 Magnum with a 20" bar. It’s a mid size (70 cc), commercial grade saw that is extremely versatile. About $1000-1200 new depending on what accessories you choose. I’d suggest a half wrap handle and oversize dogs.

Be safe. Get training if you haven’t. Chainsaws are scary as fuck and tree felling is one of the most dangerous activities a human can engage in. Cheers!

^^^ x2 on what batman said. I was a professional fireman and we used Stihl on all of the trucks. Always fired right up if properly maintained throughout the year. Second the notion of the danger factor too, very easy to get yourself or someone hurt.

My best friend also has a tree cutting business and he uses Stihl saws.

I have a Stihl, but a much cheaper one. It works just fine for tree’s removal and fire wood. I don’t remember the model.

[quote]usmccds423 wrote:
I have a Stihl, but a much cheaper one. It works just fine for tree’s removal and fire wood. I don’t remember the model.

[/quote]

Yeah, the 441 really is probably a bit overkill for what most homeowners need. The MS261is a bit smaller (50 cc or so) and is around $6-700 new. It’s still part of their “professional” series and is a good, all round entry level saw.

Edit: To be very clear, IMO the 441 really is way too much saw for a homeowner looking to do property maintenance. I would have real concerns about the safety of a person who doesn’t run saws on a very regular basis picking up that model.